culture, education, GCSEs, literature

Work, work, work…

I’ve been back at school for three days now. I got home on Tuesday and my mum asked how my day was, to which I replied, “I’m sick of school.” And I had literally been back at school for one day.

I have found year 11 to be the most strenuous year of my life school workwise (so far obviously. Sorry people who disagree) This week alone, I had a practise paper due for maths, I had to learn my Chinese oral presentation, and my drama controlled assessment started today (hence why I haven’t posted anything for two days). I also have to face getting all of my mock results back, which could be completely traumatising in itself!! Surprisingly I have actually been getting quite good marks so far, which is a relief! Apart from the workload, I suppose school has actually been alright. It’s been good to get all the girls back together (I go to an all-girls’ school) and to see everyone again. We do all feel like there has been no holiday, “What holiday?”, but it’s still great to have everyone together, and just be able to chat to the people who you would never meet up with outside of school.

I made a discovery in the Christmas holidays. I was given ‘Looking for Alaska’ by John Green for Christmas, and I started it last week. It was all great and I was thoroughly enjoying reading about the rebellious teenagers adventures; until the second half of the book, named “After”. A couple of pages later, I realised there was a trend establishing among the two John Green books I have read. They both heavily involve death. Green is known as the author of ‘The Fault in our Stars’, and it is well known that that book will ultimately lead in a death (not telling you who though – go read it! 🙂 ) This book though, to begin with, held the indication of a romance evolving between Miles (the narrator) and… someone. So, as you can imagine, I was completely not expecting it at all when I read the news of the death. (Again, not telling you who!) I was shocked, to say the least. I can only commend John Green for instilling such a deep emotion in me, but, wow. I know death is all around us, but I would really like to know why both books are so… morbid I guess? Any ideas, I would love to hear them!

The picture above is the motto that Miles lives by almost, and I personally think it is a great quote. I find it inspiring, so I thought I would share it with you guys, my lovely beautiful readers 🙂

I suppose this post is also a bit morbid, but I really am interested! I am going to now go and finish ‘looking for Alaska’, and see how it ends! (please be a bit happier) Thanks for reading, bye!!

Standard

One thought on “Work, work, work…

  1. Pingback: My literary adventure (part 1) | The daily occurrences in the life of a teenage girl

Leave a Reply

