culture, travel

Australia day!

As I might have mentioned in a previous post, I am Australian. Well, I was born and raised in London, England, but my parents are Australian, and almost all of my family live there. So I guess I am also Australian. 🙂

Australia Day is the day where my (technically speaking) country celebrates the day the Great British fleets landed at Port Jackson, which now forms a part of Sydney Harbour, on January 26 1788. I think that day was a great day in the history of Australia, and in my opinion is a great cause to be celebrated, despite some Indigenous Australians thinking it excludes them and their culture. I understand their point and I get that, because it was the day that other people came into their country and took it over. I understand that this could be quite a controversial topic, and I do not intend to offend anybody at all.

For the rest of the population, Australia day is celebrating the discovery of their country, and I think its important to value that. Unlike a country like Great Britain that has an extremely long history and to pinpoint its beginning date so to speak would probably be impossible, countries like Australia and the USA have a specific discovery day, and I think this is actually a cool thing. The day when their forefathers landed and established colonies and over time built cities and towns and farms, I think this is what should be celebrated.

So, although its not actually Australia Day in Australia anymore, to all my awesome readers who are elsewhere and still celebrating, HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY MATE!

Standard

Leave a Reply

