culture, language, travel

My trip to Salamanca…

So first I should apologise for my unexplained absence from my blog for the past.. ooh I don’t even know. Let’s just say at least a month. It’s been full steam ahead since Christmas with my GCSEs coming up in a little under 3 months!! But I will TRY to post more often than I have been doing, so that we can all be happy 🙂

As the title probably suggests, last week (in the English half term), I went on a school trip to Salamanca, 200km from Madrid, in Spain. It is essentially a university town, hosting two universities. The town itself was established in 1134, so I suppose you could say it is quite old! It was beautiful and despite there being some stories that worry me, (we will never know what a wild party is until we write on walls with bull’s blood: my advice? Don’t) I still had an amazing time there. Therefore I would highly recommend putting this picturesque town on your bucket list, for sure.

We arrived in Salamanca on Monday evening at about 7:30, after a lengthy 2 hour drive from Madrid airport. We were greeted by our host families, and my roommate and I had a 70 year old lady who lived by herself. At first, we were a bit scared if I’m honest, because we thought that, oh, maybe she is really strict! Or, oh, maybe she won’t talk to us very much! The point of this trip was to speak as much Spanish as possible, so that was a worrying possibility! When we first met her, she didn’t exactly discourage our theories, but when we got to her apartment and started talking we realised she was actually the sweetest person we could ever have hoped for. Plus, when we got home 15 minutes past our curfew one night, she wasn’t mad, which was relieving. 🙂 So thank you to our amazing host, who was such a brilliant cook, and without her I don’t think the experience would have been as good.

A normal day for me in Salamanca: my roommate and I would set our alarms for quarter to 8, and not leave the warmth of our beds until at least 8:20. As you can imagine, we took at least half an hour to get ready, then had to eat breakfast quickly as we had to be at Mester for 9:30, and we would always leave the house late. Yes, we had to run the 7 minute walk a few times. We would go to Mester, a language school, every morning for about 3 hours, where we would have a grammar and conversation lesson, then have about an hour to explore before going home to have lunch. Lunch was the main meal of the day, so we would have an exquisitely made big meal, of various Spanish delicacies. At 4, we would meet our school at Mester for our afternoon activities, which included a walking tour of the town, with churros in an art décor museum, a dance and cooking lesson, and even a tour of both the viejo y nuevo catedral. (Old and new cathedral, in case you didn’t get that) After the activities, we would go exploring the town, which included a massive trip to Carrefour one evening, as well as my roommate buying a pair of green fuzzy creepers for 6 euros, what a bargain! We didn’t fail to notice how cheap everything was, especially the delicious local food (we lived in the bakery alright!) After our large shopping trips, our curfew was 9:30, and we were so tired I think we were thankful to go home!

I had an amazing time in Salamanca, and though it was only February, even the weather was amazing! And to round off my great trip, I took some gorgeous (I think) photos. Have a look for yourself:

street

graffiti

churros

street 2

plaza mayor panorama

front of catedral

cathedral

stained glass window

view from cathedral

view of rooftops

Thank you to my school for organising this trip, and also to my superb host. An amazing first visit to Spain 🙂

Thanks for reading guys, and if you liked this, please give me a follow! See you soon I hope!

Standard

One thought on “My trip to Salamanca…

  1. Pingback: 2015 in a nutshell… | The daily occurrences in the life of a teenage girl

Leave a Reply

