culture, music

There’s only one way to go from here…

Today was a very mixed day for me. I was feeling stressed and tired all day, and during yoga in my last period of school, I wanted nothing more than to just curl up into a ball and sleep. Then I had rehearsals for the production we are putting on of ‘Blood Wedding’, which was even more tiring. The general message here is that I am always tired basically!! 🙂

At the end of rehearsal, my friend went on her Instagram and gasped, looking directly at me, so I knew something bad must have happened. She read out: ‘Zayn Malik has announced he is leaving One Direction’. And I actually think I stopped breathing for a second. Now, I know how ‘typical soppy teenage girl’ I sound and just like any other annoying fan-girl that screams or cries when anything 1D related is mentioned (and hyperventilate whenever we even hear their names). I’m not THAT bad, promise. Well, actually… but anyway, that happened. I was, and still am extremely upset about this. Although I never particularly liked Zayn (not as much as the others anyway), he was still a major part of the group and it just won’t be the same without him. I thought their last album was their best yet (go check out  my review here 🙂 : https://madsem13.wordpress.com/2014/12/30/not-just-girly-things/ ) and that they were just getting better and better as they matured, but obviously Zayn felt he couldn’t handle his fame anymore. I respect his decision completely, I am just still trying to get my head round the idea of One Direction as a four-piece. Today marked the end of an era in a way. Yes, I know it’s cheesy, but just like when the Beatles broke up, fans are heartbroken. I’m sure you can tell yes, I am one of them.

To be honest, I am especially gutted about this as I’m going to see them in September, and I would have loved to see One Direction even just one more time altogether. But best wishes to Zayn, and to the boys of 1D who will carry on as a four, we believe in you! Defy everyone and bounce back with a bang, because you will always have supporters in your loving Directioners!

I know this will be a bit of a controversial post as people seem to either feel very strongly for or against them, but just think if this was your favourite band, and how you would feel. I felt a duty as a directioner (I guess you could call me that) to write this, and I’m sorry if you didn’t enjoy it, but please like/comment/follow me for some new and exciting posts coming up! Thanks for reading!

Standard

Leave a Reply

